Inspire

This is a term that people have thrown around me for the past 3 years-since I first moved abroad. It’s a term that I don’t associate with myself and I struggle with. I have believed it to be more than the Oxford dictionary definition:

to make someone feel that they want to do something and can do it

to make someone have a particular strong feeling or reaction:
to give someone an idea for a book, film, product, etc.

I mean I do tick these boxes. But there’s more to it, like:

to lead by example and have your life encourage others to have the courage to become more
to be greater in every way and push beyond personal limits
to be happy to have others see you truly

I guess that encapulates other qualities but literally that’s what I’ve held in my head as the reason as to why I cannot fit that word. I’m not leading by example because my personal life and how I conduct myself probably won’t encourage others to become more nor would I be happy for others to see my struggle. Mate, I get more inspiration from the young people that tell me their dreams! They’re the ones that push me to go beyond my limits. I don’t want to share all of what I go through with travelling nor would I tell all, but it’s not easy. We (as travellers that work outside of the ‘home’ country) make it look easy because we want to show strength and success. Noone wants to show their constant muck ups, failures and bad decisions. Let’s be real.

However after several conversations I feel compelled to stop dragging my feet and start to push myself for me. To stop limiting myself and break personal barriers (tends to be social barriers really); to live in a way that I pick myself up often and don’t wallow in a mess or floods of tears for a pity party. I’m definitely going to start seeing myself as more and acting accordingly. Being mediocre and using excuses as to why I don’t go for more is terribly boring now. I’m 24 😕.

Literally had a flick of Harley Quinn from suicide squad and her crazy smile:

But yes, I’ll f the game up at 24 and go inspire people. Watch this space!

-Also, if you blog let’s connect and mention each other. Be the flicker to my flame!

xx

16 thoughts on “Inspire

  1. Been a follower of your blog for quite some time. Been silently paying attention to your recent posts about China. Speaking of the term “inspire” I haven’t been feeling encouraged to post lately. Been over a month. Saw you wanted to reach out to bloggers so I’m raising my hand.

    P.S. Still haven’t seen Suicide Squad 😕

    1. Hi, yeah I remember You! I say whatever is on your heart just draft something, I have loads of drafts. Some unfinished and some I just randomly schedule 🤔 yeah.. Haha, well we need to see that movie and be inspired all over again I feel like seeing that level of crazy could spiral some interesting pieces in the current state of world affairs. As writers there’s so much to glean from then research and put our opinion on. Re blogging, I’m looking to connect and just be friends with more bloggers and even guest feature or co write something, etc. I’m aiming to do more with the blog and get into being sponsored or gaining things that will aid in my travels.

      1. I’m so picky with my writing. I just don’t write straight up blog posts. There is usually a format: self-letter, satire news story, script. I never forgot my blog. Just nothing I have been thinking about since my last post is worthy.

        I wanna connect more. I remember your YouTube video you did. Remember you did it because you didn’t wanna write what you had to say. I suggest doing that more. There are definitely sponsored opportunities when you do product hauls or endorse stuff.

      2. Oh ok.
        Yeah my laziness. But I’d want to do it properly and edit etc, maybe when I move and have free time and pretty sights to sit in. I’m not going into beauty, not my area. I’ll happily take free hair stuff. But with traveling it’s just like transport, accommodation and food (flight, hotel, restaurant)…

      3. Glad you said that. Yeah, please don’t do what is typical and expected of your gender. It’s so easy to go into beauty. I recommend doing something that will bring in the numbers, if your goal is to have an audience and you’re not just doing this as a diary. I definitely see you doing a travel blog. Showing off the pretty sites and stuff.

      4. Haha, it’s not even a niche anymore. You said it’s like a diary, I am going to try switch it up. Moreso to speak to people/person/reader instead of to them about my personal ‘thing’ (topic). I do see nice things, I just tend to enjoy it rather than take 500 pictures to write about it. That fine line of living in the moment and making a living from the moment.

      5. I understand, but I’m talking about video rather pics. Do you think a Go Pro camera is a good investment? Like could you still live in the moment without knowing you’re capturing it because you have a camera on your forehead? Lol

      6. Lol on my forehead! Haha I could use video, the effort behind that level of editing though. I’ll test some things out when I go to Spain in the first few days as I’ll be with my friend…I’m on a teaching English salary, home girl gotta eat first. Or I’ll get an aliexpress version (chinese fake thing).

      7. Yeah, these guys wear their Go Pro as a helmet. I don’t have one myself but I’m sure they’re high. You definitely wanna create home videos at least for you and your kids to look back on.

      8. I don’t want it to mess up my hair haha 🙈. They need a neck/choker one, I could manage that 🤔. Yeah I have pics from trips for future kids to see 😊

      9. You still rocking that Afro? 😉. All I have is my iPhone cam and iMovie software. I want to shoot some 4K footage. You know once you show your kids they’re gone wanna go there too Mama Kiki

      10. Yup, team natural is here to stay!
        I’m not an apple fan.
        They can go there on their own with their own money. I imagine travel to get cheaper and faster by the time they’re 16 onwards.

      11. I love it!
        Yeah, technology is amazing and will only get crazier in 16 years. Recently I did my first eDeposit. I simply took a pic of the front and back of my check and the next day it was in my account. That blew me away.

      12. Wow. Things like a cheque is slowly disappearing too. Imagine having to teach all these things in the future, especially vinyls and vhs tapes.

Leave a Reply you Wonderful people!

